www.BookHoundsYA.net

You'd have to have, like, a lentil for a soul to hate wiener dogs. ~Zuzana from The Daughter of Smoke & Bones by Laini Taylor


Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Giveaway Review THROUGH THE WOODS by EMILY CARROLL @emilyterrible @SimonTeen



A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman

'It came from the woods. Most strange things do.'

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there...


Buy on Amazon


My name is Emily Carroll, and I was born in June of 1983. I grew up in London (Ontario) but moved to Vancouver for work after graduating Sheridan College's Classical Animation program. I have since moved back to Ontario, and now live in Stratford with my wife, Kate Craig. We have a very large cat.

My comics have appeared in several anthologies, such as The Anthology Project V2, Explorer: The Mystery Boxes, kuš! #9, Little Heart, Creepy #9 (Dark Horse), Fairy Tale Comics (First Second) The Witching Hour (Vertigo), & others. My first book, Through the Woods, a collection of short horror stories, is being published by Margaret K McElderry Books in July 2014, and by Faber and Faber in the UK.



SOURCE:  PUBLISHER

MY THOUGHTS:  ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT

 This collection of five stories, all interrelated, came as a surprise to me.   This thoroughly creepy book will having you staring at its pages long after you finish reading the words.  My favorite story is "A Lady's Hands Are Cold" about a bride who finds herself haunted by a prior resident.  The next one I adored is  "My Friend Janna", that will make you wonder about your own friends and what follows them around at night.  The artwork matches the pacing and words of the story perfectly.  

The book is rounded out by three more stories. "The Nesting Place"  is a Twilight Zone worthy tale about two brothers and a fiancee', who isn't what she appears to be.  "Our Neighbor's House" is something to be read at Halloween and the best known of the bunch is "His Face All Red" which appears online as a web comic. I enjoyed all of these spooky tales and think anyone would love to have this quirky book on their table.  If you enjoy Neil Gaimen's twisted sense of humor and in the drawing style of Edward Gorey, this is your book!  



 WANT TO WIN THIS AWESOME BOOK



Ends 8/1/14 

Open to anyone WITH A US MAILING ADDRESS -PO BOXES OK
Open only to those who can legally enter
Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary.
You must be 13 or older to enter .
The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.
This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified.
The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning.
Giveaway was organized by BookHounds and sponsored by me.
VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.  

YOU MUST LEAVE A COMMENT TO ENTER.  
I VERIFY THIS BEFORE AWARDING THE PRIZE.   

a Rafflecopter giveaway

14 comments:

  1. Let's just say that I have a bit of an overactive imagination and an old house that likes to make strange noises.

    (BTW, I'm signed in on the Rafflecopter under the wrestle_gurl email, but I promise this is me)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book looks super good! I've been trying to get into graphic novels lately. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Also, I'm afraid of the dark when I'm home alone. Or watching a scary movie. Or reading a scary book. Pretty much all of the above...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Absolutely not, I have to be in total darkness to sleep. I love the dark I think its beautiful in a dark way. Lol

    ReplyDelete
  5. Nope, but I get jumpy when alone in a room by myself at night when reading a good horror novel! I scare the pants off myself, usually, LOL!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm not afraid of the dark. I can't sleep with any light.

    ReplyDelete
  7. In my own house, I'm not afraid of the dark. Anywhere else, I'd have to say yes.

    This sounds like a book I need to get.

    ReplyDelete
  8. No, but I don't like unexplained sounds when I can't see what's going on. I always keep a flashlight by the bed.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yes, I am afraid of the dark, I have been since I was really little.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have always had to have a night light or at least the tv on.. And I'm almost 30 lol

    ReplyDelete
  11. Not quite the dark but dark basements... yes!

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

    ReplyDelete
  12. Yes, I've always been afraid of the dark. Over the years it's gotten better, but it's still traumatizing.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Only if I'm alone without my cellphone (which includes a flashlight!!)

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images form the Future is Steampunk kit by Marta Van Eck