www.BookHoundsYA.net

You'd have to have, like, a lentil for a soul to hate wiener dogs. ~Zuzana from The Daughter of Smoke & Bones by Laini Taylor


Monday, February 24, 2014

Giveaway Review THE VIOLET HOUR by WHITNEY MILLER @whitneymiller @fluxbooks



Book Description

 March 1, 2014

Some call VisionCrest the pinnacle of religious enlightenment.

Others call it a powerful cult.

For seventeen years, Harlow Wintergreen has called it her life.

As the adopted daughter of VisionCrest’s patriarch, Harlow is expected to be perfect at all times. The other Ministry teens must see her as a paragon of integrity. The world must see her as a future leader.
Despite the constant scrutiny, Harlow has managed to keep a dark and dangerous secret, even from her best friend and the boy she loves. She hears a voice in her head that seems to have a mind of its own, plaguing her with violent and bloody visions. It commands her to kill. And the urge to obey is getting harder and harder to control . . .


Buy on Amazon : The Violet Hour




source:  publisher

my thoughts
loved it

Seventeen-year-old Harlow has been adopted by the creepy genius behind VisionCrest and is watched constantly.  Forced to be "on", she really has no one to relate to  and when the voices in her head begin to be violent, she wonders how she can keep her secret.  As VisionCrest controls more and more of the population, she would rather listen to punk rock than deal with the religion her father has created.  This corporate style religion will have you thinking seriously about some others like it.  After a series of kidnappings and now travel to Asia to promote the religion like cult, she begins to see and hear more gruesome things in what seems an alternate reality.  

Reunited with Adam, her one childhood friend and crush, she tried to keep the voice in check.  Now that Adam has returned after being kidnapped, he seems changed.  As Harlow tries to fight the voice, she becomes overwhelmed with it.  Of course, there is some perfect chemistry going on here.  The ending just brings everything together perfectly.  ARGHH -- I really want to tell all, but I don't want to ruin it for you.  Filled with a bit of graphic violence and some kissing, this should be fine for younger teens.  Fans of Gretchen McNeil and Brenna Yovanoff are going to adore this new one.  










About the Author


Whitney A. Miller (San Francisco, CA) lives in San Francisco with her husband and a struggling houseplant. When she's not having international adventures, she's dreaming or writing about them.The Violet Hour is her debut novel. Visit her online at http://www.whitneyamiller.com/.











WEBSITE -  TWITTER  - FACEBOOK - PINTEREST  -  add to your GOODREADS shelf






Anyone in the U.S. who pre-orders THE VIOLET HOUR by March 7th, 2014 will receive a signed TVH bookmark, a TVH sticker, and TVH temporary tattoos! Simply pre-order from a retailer of your choice (your local indie, favorite online retailer, anywhere! – but FYI, if you pre-order from Books Inc, you will get a signed copy!).

For details on a $50 and $20 Amazon giveaway and more info on the preorder deal,  check out Whitney's site HERE

buy links:







WANT TO WIN A COPY OF THIS BOOK 
& $10 TO AMAZON?  

Ends 2/27/14

 Open to the US Only -- No PO Boxes
Open only to those who can legally enter
Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary.
You must be 13 or older to enter .
The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.
This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified.
The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning.
Giveaway was organized by BookHounds and sponsored by the publisher.
VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

14 comments:

  1. i am currently reading The Beast by Faye Kellerman.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just got an ARC of Ruby by Cynthia Bond. That'll be started today. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am reading Unravel by Calia Read

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just started Insurgent by Veronica Roth and The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Jessica Sorenson's The Secret #1

    ReplyDelete
  6. I just finished up The House on Tradd Street by Karen White.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I just started The Archived :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am still reading on The Killing woods by Lucy Christopher.

    ReplyDelete
  9. A Season For Hope by Sarra Cannon.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell

    ReplyDelete
  11. I am reading Hystera by Leora Skolkin-Smith

    tiramisu392 (at) yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. currently - Pride and Prejudice

    ReplyDelete
  13. I'm reading The Keeper Awakening by O.L. Ramos for a review for the teen literacy site, Read For Your Future. Only a couple pages into it but it looks good so far:)

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images form the Future is Steampunk kit by Marta Van Eck