You'd have to have, like, a lentil for a soul to hate wiener dogs. ~Zuzana from The Daughter of Smoke & Bones by Laini Taylor

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Guest Post EMMA MICHAELS author of OWLET @EmmaMichaels #owlet @TributeBooks


The Stryx Tribes

The five tribes of the Stryx are the Azure, the Blacks, the Finches, the Falcons and the Artemis. Each of these names was the last names of the original five men who came together on a mysterious island and founded the ‘Society of Feathers’.
My inspiration for writing the original five tribes was based off of the five slots on a sand dollar that I found. As a young girl, I spent hours scouring the beach near my grandmother’s house for a sand dollar but I never found one until I came to Washington State. When I looked at the sand dollar, I was struck with how the five slots of the sand dollar and the five petals detailed at the center make up the complete whole, and without each other, they would be nothing. So too, do the Stryx work together. For as one they make a community, filled with traditions, culture and heart.
Each family has their own beliefs. The Azure believes all Stryx should follow their hearts. Devout and true to their hearts, their passion guides and sustains them through all trials. Within their hearts lie the way forward, and without this guidance they would be nothing.
The Blacks believe in loyalty and anyone who lives without it is lost in darkness.  Loyalty to their family and each other comes first in all things, followed by loyalty to the council. The Blacks will not question but act without hesitation, believing that all that they do is for the greater good.
The Finches hold strongly to the truth, like the innocent finches that guided them to the River Styx. They believe that if they seek the truth they will always find their way, even during times when all seems lost. They also leave a record behind them, allowing others to seek the truth and follow where they have gone.
The Falcons, strong, proud fliers that soar so high out of reach, fly high in goals and dreams that they believe are the right of all Stryx. If a Falcon is weak, the family will be weak. They push their young ones hard to weed out all weakness, shaping them to be strong, proud examples of the Stryx.
The Artemis believes in science, but much of this family has been obscured in mystery and not even the mighty council of the Stryx knows all of their hidden ways. Only the innermost folds of the Artemis learn of all of their secrets, and there are whispers even among the Artemis that the truth of their history is waiting to be found by any who dare.
Together the leaders of these tribes formed the Eyrie, which works as a council for all Stryx and adamantly upholds the beliefs of all five houses. They work as a governing force for all Stryx, creating their laws and upholding them when a need arises. While they are featured in Owlet, they will play an even bigger role in the sequel; Eyrie.

Book Description
Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.

About the Author
Emma Michaels is the author of the ‘A Sense of Truth’ and ‘Society of Feathers’ series. Her goal with her latest YA novel 'Owlet' is to give others what she did not have growing up; a strong female protagonist with asthma. While her previous aspiration was to be a lady knight she realized that not being able to run more than a few feet might become a hindrance so turned to writing instead. Her day jobs include being a cover artist, marketing consultant and silk screen designer.

As the founder of The Writers Voice blog (http://OurBooksOurVoice.Blogspot.com) she loves to connect authors and readers. As a book blogger turned author, she was born and raised in Los Angeles, California, until she moved at eighteen to Washington State. Suddenly, the world was a new place filled with tall green trees that reached further for the sky with every moment, making her want to do the same. Ever since, she has tried to make her life something new and different from what it was before, pursuing her future career, setting high goals and reaching for them. With the support of her fiancé, Chihuahua, and her amazing blog followers and fellow bloggers, she wants to prove to the world that anything is possible and help inspire fellow literary lovers to reach for their dreams.

Links for Emma and her book!

You can buy Owlet on October 13 or pre order the PDF right now!


  1. Mary, thanks for having Emma stop by and explain the different tribes found in her novel. Love reading how an author's creative mind works :)

  2. As a fellow author I know Emma (she was also kind enough to re-design my book covers!), but I'd yet to read all about her books, and I must admit, they sound fantastic!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images form the Future is Steampunk kit by Marta Van Eck